Schuman Foundation Members

(Tunne Kelam, Jaime Mayor Oreja, Jan Olbrycht, Paul Rangel, Michael Gahler, Alojz Peterle, Kinga Gál, Jacques Santer - President, Ria Oomen-Ruiten, Othmar Karas, Mario Mauro,
Ioannis Kasoulides, Horst Langes - Honorary President, Klaus Kellersmann, György Hölvényi)


At its meeting in December 2009, the Presidency of the EPP Group elected a new Board of the Robert Schuman Foundation. Jacques Santer will continue to be the President. Joseph Daul MEP, Chairman of the EPP Group, an Ex officio member, and other former members were re-elected. As a result of the enlargement of the European Union, a number of new members also joined the Board.

Board members are elected for two and a half years. The Presidency also elected György Hölvényi, a staff member of the EPP Group, as Secretary-General of the Foundation.

Significant political tasks await the new Board of the Robert Schuman Foundation in the period ahead. The foundation, which incorporates 'Foundation for Cooperation amongst Christian Democrats in Europe' has been working for European cooperation, promoting and spreading Christian Democratic political values for more than two decades.

As the European Union has become enlarged, it seems important to strengthen these political values in the 'new' Member States. For over two decades, the Foundation has been the forerunner for Christian Democracy in the countries awaiting accession. It was these aims that the Robert Schuman Foundation hoped to achieve through tenders, traineeships, professional gatherings and publications.